top of page

Search Terms

A few words entered into a search engine can reveal much about how the questions we ask and the answers we perceive about a global issues like migration.

Recently, I saw this kind of analysis of search terms abut women's rights, so I thought it would be interesting to see what came up when I used the same technique to research refugees. I was surprised to find that the results were more negative than positive. The screenshots below show the "answers" that come up when you enter a phrase (the question).

In my opinion this shows that many people are poorly educated about the issue of refugees. To me, when people say that refugees "should not be allowed" in their countries or refugees "need to go back," it’s more than wrong. It's dehumanizing.

CATEGORIES
FEATURED
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FOLLOW US
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
bottom of page